If you suffered a work injury in Wilkes-Barre, contact a Wilkes-Barre workers’ comp lawyer at Munley Law for a free consult
If you have been injured on the job in Wilkes-Barre, PA, you may face roadblocks to getting the compensation you need. A Wilkes-Barre workers’ compensation lawyer at Munley Law can help. Since 1959, injured Pennsylvania workers have trusted Munley Law to protect their livelihood and secure their benefits. Our attorneys have earned the highest possible peer and client review ratings from Martindale-Hubbell, and have consistently been named among the Best Lawyers in America. In 2016, J. Christopher Munley was named “Workers’ Compensation Lawyer of the Year,” for our region.
At Munley Law, we do not collect a fee unless we get benefits for you. Contact us to arrange a free case evaluation with a Wilkes-Barre workers’ comp attorney.
Chat live, fill out our contact form, or call (855) 866-5529 today for a free consultation.
A Wilkes-Barre workman’s comp lawyer will ensure that you receive your benefits
Wilkes-Barre has the 4th-largest downtown workforce in the state. When work-related accidents happen, workers’ compensation exists to cover the medical bills and make up for your lost wages while you’re out of work. You may collect workers’ comp if the work you perform results in an injury, illness, or aggravation of an existing condition. However, the claims process can prove more complicated than that. Workers’ compensation may reject your claim and deny that your injury was work-related. Or, you may stop receiving your benefits before you are able to return to work. If this happens, don’t panic. Consult a workers’ compensation lawyer at Munley Law.
If your injury resulted from faulty or defective machinery, you may have cause to bring a suit against a third-party. A Wilkes-Barre workers’ compensation attorney at Munley Law will assess each aspect of your accident to ensure that you are rightfully compensated.
We work on a contingent fee basis, so we do not collect a fee unless we obtain your benefits. You will not have to pay anything up front or out of your own pocket. Call today for a free consultation.
Click here to see what our past workman’s compensation clients have to say about Munley Law.
Workers’ Comp Questions and Answers:
Q: What should I do after a work accident?
A: Immediately after the accident, report it to your supervisor and complete an incident report. Even if your injury seems minor, it may cause complications later on. After you report your injury, workers’ compensation representatives may contact you for details. Do not feel pressured to sign away your workers’ compensation rights. Never sign any insurance document until a Wilkes-Barre workers’ compensation law firm has reviewed it first.
Q: How long do I have to file a claim?
A: Under Pennsylvania law, you must notify your supervisor at your place of employment within 120 days of the date of injury. A workers’ compensation case must be filed no later than three years from the date of the incident. However, if you or a family member contract an illness due to your employment (such as “black lung” from working in a coal mine, or mesothelioma from asbestos exposure), different laws apply. According to Pennsylvania law, the disease and inability to work must occur within 300 weeks from the date you were last employed in the job where you contracted the disease.
Q: Am I covered by workers’ comp?
A: Almost every PA employee has coverage under the Workers’ Compensation Act. This includes all full-time, part-time, and seasonal workers. Nearly all businesses must have workers’ compensation insurance. Workers in certain industries may be covered under different compensation laws specific to that particular industry, such as railroad or shipyard workers. Volunteers and independent contractors may not be considered an employee and therefore may not be covered. Contact Munley Law to learn more about your legal rights as a Wilkes-Barre employee.
Q: Can I choose my own doctor?
A: For the first 90 days, you are required to treat with a doctor from a list your employer provides. Your employer must give you at least six doctors to choose from, and your employer cannot choose for you. If your employer does not provide a list of options, you may choose your own. You may also choose another doctor from the list if the first doctor selected is unsatisfactory. After 90 days of treatment, you then have the option to choose your own doctor. If you do decide to choose a doctor that is not on your employer’s list, you must notify your employer within five days after your first visit.
Q: How much will I receive in compensation?
A: Your compensation will depend on whether you have a total or partial disability. If you are totally disabled by your work injury and cannot work at all, you are entitled to weekly benefits equal to about two-thirds of your weekly pay, or a maximum of $995, for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2017. This number changes yearly. For more information on how much you will be compensated, click here.
Q: When will I receive workers’ compensation payments?
A: You should begin receiving benefits approximately 21 days after you reported your injury to your employer.
Q: What should I do if my workers’ comp claim is denied?
A: Don’t panic. It is not uncommon for an insurance company to deny a workers’ compensation claim. Once denied, you have three years from the date of your injury to file a claim with the state’s Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. In this case, it is best to have an experienced, knowledgeable workman’s compensation attorney on your side. The right lawyer will be instrumental in ensuring that you receive the compensation you deserve.