PA passes Kevin’s Law, increases penalty for hit and run
State legislators passed a bill yesterday to strengthen Pennsylvania’s hit-and-run law. Kevin’s Law was named in honor of Kevin Miller from Dallas, PA, a 5-year-old boy killed by a hit and run driver as he crossed the street with his family in Wilkes-Barre four days before Christmas in 2012. Kevin Miller’s family, along with more than 60 local residents, traveled to the state capital yesterday to show support for passage of the law.
The original law carried only a mandatory minimum one-year in jail. Under the law change, the penalty for those who flee fatal crashes will be increased to a mandatory minimum of three years in prison. Kevin’s Law, amended into Senate Bill 1312, makes the penalty for fleeing the scene of a vehicular homicide the same as homicide by vehicle when drunk.
Alcohol is often a factor in these crashes, and pedestrians are often the victims, […]Read More
Posted in Car Accidents.
What Happens When Someone Dies in a Crash?
When someone you love dies in a collision, you need someone who will fight for your family
Get justice after a loved one dies in a fatal crash
It is the call every family member dreads. While we all hope that it will never be us or our loved ones, 6 million Americans crash every year. 3 million suffer serious injuries from their accidents. Each day, 90 people die in collisions on America’s streets, roads, and highways. In the wake of a fatal crash, the victim’s family members must pick up the pieces while simultaneously grieving the person they lost. However, most people do not know what to do. As a result, the Wilkes-Barre car accident lawyers at Munley Law Personal Injury Attorneys explain what happens when someone you love dies in a car crash.
Do you have questions about an accident? […]Read More
An Insurance Adjuster Calls After Your Scranton Car Accident. What Should You Do?
How to Interact with Insurance Adjusters After a Car Accident
If you or a loved one have been in a car accident, your main focus should be on caring for and recuperating from injuries and the trauma that has been endured. Insurance adjusters often prey upon victims’ vulnerability by trying to negotiate early settlements, and by getting the injury victim to make statements that can infringe upon how much you are truly entitled to. At this time, thinking about recovering compensation from insurance companies may seem stressful and the last thing that you want to worry about; a Scranton car accident lawyer can alleviate these stresses. You need an experienced car accident lawyer that has a proven track record.
For over 60 years, the award-winning personal injury lawyers at Munley Law have fought for the rights of accident victims throughout Pennsylvania. If you or someone you love has been injured in a car crash, […]Read More
Can I Sue After a Rear End Collision?
Hire an Experienced Car Accident Attorney to Help After Rear End Accident
Car accident lawyers will tell you that rear end collisions are unfortunately a fairly common part of driving; in fact, the Washington Post reported that there are approximately 1.7 million rear end collisions on U.S. roadways each year. What’s more, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation reported in 2019 that almost 30% of car accidents in the state were rear-end collisions. But while these accidents are common, they still need to be taken seriously. Grave injury and extensive damage are both possible results of a rear-end accident, and if you’ve experienced an accident of this nature, you will want a trusted car accident lawyer to guide you through the process of receiving proper compensation.
After an accident, it’s possible that one party may reach out to the other with an initial settlement offer. […]Read More
PA Governor Signs New Child Car Seat Law
Updated, February 2023
Over the past few years, Pennsylvania has changed many of its laws pertaining to the use of child seats. In June 2016, Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf signed legislation requiring all children under 2 years of age to ride in rear-facing child car seats in the back seat of the vehicle.
The previous law stated only that all children under 4 years of age must be restrained in a safety seat – it did not specify rear or front-facing, and did not state that children that young must ride in the back seat.
The law had been updated again recently to match the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s newest guidelines. According to the updated law, children under the age of 8, less than 57 inches tall, or less than 80 pounds, are required to be placed in a car or booster seat as approved by the U.S. […]Read More
Posted in Car Accidents, Personal Injury.